Recognition Awards

Undergraduate Neuroscience Awards

  • Undergraduate Neuroscience Awards 2012

    The Peter A Zornes Memorial Neuroscience Scholarship was awarded to Matthew Landowski and Amanda Feeney. Award details

    Matthew Landowski
    Matthew Landowski
    Amanda Feeney
    Kathy Zornes points out some of the Peter Zornes memorial Scholarship information to Amanda Feeney.
    Michelle David

    Shelby Weeks, Michelle David and Drew Neyens were each given a Neuroscience Endowed Scholarship for the 2012 - 2013 academic year.

    Dr. Steve Simasko, director of the Neuroscience Program and Chair of Integrative Physiology and Neuroscience (IPN), awards Michelle David one of three Neuroscience Endowed Scholarships.

  • Undergraduate Neuroscience Awards 2011

    Rachel Wanty

    The Peter A Zornes Memorial Neuroscience Scholarship was awarded to Rachel Wanty (far left) being presented with the 2011 Peter A Zornes Memorial Neuroscience Scholarship by the Zornes Family. Award details

    Erik Larson

    At the graduation/mom's weekend dessert poster presentation that took place on April 8, Neuroscience scholarships went to Erik Larson, Jonathan Stewart, and Stephenie Le'Von McCray.

    Dr. Steve Simasko, IPN Chair/ Director of Neuroscience Program presenting neuroscience student Erik Larson with the program’s main Neuroscience scholarship for 2011.

  • Undergraduate Neuroscience Awards 2010

    Kevin John Ketcham

    Neuroscience Scholarship awarded to Kevin John Ketcham

    Zornes Award. Pictured from left to right: Omar Bayomy, Bryan Slinker, Kathy Zornes, Joy Zornes, Tom Zornes and Steve Simasko. Award details

    Congratulations to undergraduate Neuroscience majors Derick En'Wezoh, Audrey Jensen and Alan Emanuel for winning the Campus Involvement, Community Service, and Visual/Performing Arts Big Ten Senior Awards for 2010.

    From the early 1900s to the 1980s, Washington State University recognized the best five men and five women seniors. These students were called "The Big Five Men" and "The Big Five Women." The Student Alumni Ambassadors are continuing this tradition with the Big Ten Seniors award program. The most qualified five men and five women, each representing a specific aspect of the college experience, are chosen. Winners demonstrate excellence in one of these categories:

    Campus Involvement
    Community Service
    Visual/Performing Arts

    Winners were announced at the Graduate BBQ Bash on Thursday, May 6, 2010, at the Lewis Alumni Centre. Derick won in the Campus Involvement category: Nominees for this category included seniors who have been involved in ASWSU, registered student organizations, university committees, hall government, fraternities, and/or sororities. Audrey won in the Community Service category: Nominees for this category included seniors who have participated in outreach to children, senior citizens, the impoverished, women's safety, the environment, etc., and Alan won in the Visual/Performing Arts category: Nominees for this category may include painters, sculptors, graphic artists, singers, musicians, composers, actors/actresses, directors, etc...

    Derick En'Wezoh and Devon Tokuno have been selected for the 2010 President’s Award.

    Thirty-three undergraduate and graduate students were honored with the 2010 President’s Award for Leadership and Service at Washington State University. The students were recognized at a dinner and program Sunday, April 25, in the Compton Union Building on the WSU Pullman campus.

    Since 1996, the President’s Award has been bestowed annually to less than one percent of the university’s undergraduate and graduate students who exemplify exceptional leadership and service to the university and the community. Students are selected based on their leadership and engagement consistent with the university’s values of inquiry and innovation, character, teamwork and diversity. List of all Awardees.

    Neuroscience Endowed Scholarship winners: Jessamyn Dahmen, Tin Yan Lee and Patricia Moore.

  • Undergraduate Neuroscience Awards 2009

    Alexandra Bond

    Zornes Award (Pictured: Bryan Slinker, Alexandra Bond (student winner), Kathy Zornes, Joy Zornes, and Tom Zornes). Award details

    Alcohol and Drug Abuse Program Fellowship
    Rooney, Edward M
    WSU - Summer (Simasko)
    Wyrick, Katherine "Katie" Leigh
    WSU - Summer
    Neuroscience Scholarship
    Bond, Alexandra A
    Peter A. Zornes Memorial Neuroscience
    Bond, Alexandra A
    WSU Neuroscience Program
    Moore, Patricia Faye
    WSU Neuroscience Program
    Phi Beta Kappa
    Bond, Alexandra A
    Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship
    Nevins, Derek Durand
    Phi Beta Kappa Scholarship
    Jassal, Jatinder (Jay) S.
    WSU Emeritus Society Undergraduate (Czaja)
    Jatinder Jassal

    The Washington State University Office of Undergraduate Education (OUE) celebrated the excellence of faculty, staff, and students at its 2008-9 awards ceremony April 9 at the Lewis Alumni Centre. The WSU Emeritus Society recognized undergraduates with this new award for their exceptional work in the arts and humanities, biosciences, physical sciences, and the social behavioral and economic sciences. One of the Emeritus Society Awards for Undergraduate Achievement in Research and Scholarship went to Jatinder Jassal, neuroscience major mentored by Krzysztof Czaja, assistant professor in IPN. (details)

    Stephen Houmes and Darren Plummer

    Congratulations to undergraduate Neuroscience students Stephen Houmes and Darren Plummer who were both awarded the 2009 President's Award for Leadership at an awards banquet on Sunday, April 26.

    Less than 1% of the 25,000 WSU undergraduate, graduate and professional students at WSU are recognized for their leadership and service to WSU and its greater communities. Award recipients were selected based on their leadership and engagement consistent with the university's values of inquiry and innovation, character, teamwork and diversity.

    Grady and Lillie Auvil Scholarship and Research Fund Awards- March 16, 2009 (award details)

    Funding support from the Grady and Lillie Auvil Scholarship and Research Fund will help two Washington State University neuroscience students carry out their research projects during spring semester 2009.

    • Tim Lyons, a psychology major and neuroscience minor from Seattle whose research is titled “Mindfulness, Negative Affect and Communication-Related Anxiety.” His mentors are Michiyo Hirai, assistant professor, Dept. of Psychology, and Jaak Panksepp, professor, Neuroscience Program, College of Veterinary Medicine.
    • Amy Van Nortwick, neuroscience major and Honors student from Conway, whose research is titled “The Relationship Between Neural Activity in the Brain and Regional Blood Perfusion.” Her mentor is Dave Rector, associate professor, Neuroscience Program, College of Veterinary Medicine.

    Neuroscience Endowed Scholarship winners: Kevin Ketcham and Karlie Pyl.

Washington State University