DVM Class of 2022 Zoetis, Wescott, and Pre-Clinical Teaching award recipients

The DVM Class of 2022 voted for the recipients of the Zoetis Distinguished Teaching Award, the Wescott Awards for Excellence in Clinical Teaching, and the Pre-Clinical Teaching Awards.

Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award

Dr. Jenifer Gold

Equine Services

The award goes to a teacher who, through their ability, dedication, character, and leadership, has contributed significantly to the advancement of the veterinary profession, as well as to student education. Award recipients from each veterinary college in the United States can be nominated for the national Zoetis Distinguished Veterinary Teaching Award.

Richard Wescott Clinical Teaching Award

Started in 1994 to honor Dr. Richard Wescott, a much-loved teacher and former associate dean of the college, the Wescott Awards recognize those who provide outstanding teaching and mentoring during clinical rotations.

Faculty recipients

Dr. Jenifer Gold

Equine Services, Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Dr. Sarah Guess

Internal Medicine, Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Dr. Lais Malavasi

Anesthesiology, Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Dr. Tania Perez-Jimenez

Anesthesiology, Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Dr. Rance Sellon

Internal Medicine, Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Dr. Jennifer Sexton

Agricultural Animal Services
Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Veterinary technician recipients

Jane Hommel

Equine Services, Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Nina Karn

Small Animal Surgery, Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Ciara Riddle

Emergency & Critical Care
Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Excellence in Pre-clinical Teaching

The Excellence in Pre-Clinical Teaching Award recognizes instructors before clinical rotations begin.

This year’s recipients

Dr. Gary Haldorson

Washington State University

Dr. Char Quist

Montana State University

Dr. Thomas Baldwin

Utah State University

Outstanding House Officer of the Year

Based on excellence in teaching, mentoring, and demonstrating compassion for clients and patients, the DVM Class of 2022 selected Dr. Carlos Valerio Lopez as the Outstanding House Officer of the Year. It is the second consecutive year he has won the award.