DVM Class of 2023 Zoetis, Wescott, and Pre-Clinical Teaching award recipients

The DVM Class of 2023 voted for the recipients of the Zoetis Distinguished Teaching Award, the Wescott Awards for Excellence in Clinical Teaching, and the Pre-Clinical Teaching Awards.

Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award

Rance Sellon

This award is sponsored by Zoetis and recognizes an outstanding teacher who has contributed significantly to the overall advancement of the profession through their teaching abilities. The recipient of this award is selected by the fourth-year class.

Wescott Excellence in Clinical Teaching Awards

Dr. Richard Wescott was a highly respected parasitologist, much loved teacher at the WSU College of Veterinary Medicine. Started in 1994 to honor Dr. Wescott, a goal of the award is to recognize WSU College of Veterinary Medicine clinical faculty who provide outstanding teaching and mentoring during clinical rotations.

Faculty Recipients

Ryan Baumwart


Ram Kasimanickam


Annie Allen-Chen


John Mattoon

Diagnostic Imaging

Cassidy Cordon

Community Practice

Clinical Teaching Staff Recipients

Presented to veterinary technicians or staff at the Veterinary Teaching Hospital who played an important role in teaching in the fourth year.

Shelley Ensign

Internal Medicine

Shona Meyer


Aleena Nemeth


Excellence in Preclinical Teaching Award

Julie Cary
Simulation-Based Education

Presented to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in character, leadership, and teaching in preclinical years 1 and 2.

Outstanding House Officer Award

Dr. Neil Sinha outside the Veterinary Teaching Hospital.

Neil Sinha
Internal Medicine

Presented to a house officer who demonstrates excellence in teaching, mentoring, and serving as a role model.