DVM Class of 2024 Zoetis, Wescott, Pre-Clinical Teaching, and other award recipients

College text treatment over the WSU fight song.

The DVM Class of 2024 voted for the recipients of the Zoetis Distinguished Teaching Award, the Wescott Awards for Excellence in Clinical Teaching, the Pre-Clinical Teaching Awards, and the Outstanding House Officer Award.

Zoetis Distinguished Teacher Award

Dr. Talcott outside the College.

Patricia Talcott

This award is sponsored by Zoetis and recognizes an outstanding teacher who has contributed significantly to the overall advancement of the profession through their teaching abilities. The recipient of this award is selected by the fourth-year class.

Wescott Excellence in Clinical Teaching Awards

Dr. Richard Wescott was a highly respected parasitologist, much loved teacher at the WSU College of Veterinary Medicine. A goal of the award is to recognize WSU College of Veterinary Medicine clinical faculty who provide outstanding teaching and mentoring during clinical rotations.

Faculty Recipients

Dr. Matt Mason outside the Veterinary Teaching Hospital.

Matt Mason

Community Practice
Portrait of Katie Kuehl.

Katie Kuehl

Seattle Humane
Jeff Olivarez outside the College.

Jeff Olivarez

Ag Animal
Dr. Bonnie Campbell outside the Veterinary Teaching Hospital.

Bonnie Campbell

Professional headshot of Dr. Martin Suarez in a photo studio.

Martin Suarez


Clinical Staff Recipients

Presented to veterinary technicians or staff at the Veterinary Teaching Hospital who played an important role in teaching in the fourth year.

Joyce outside the Veterinary Teaching Hospital.

Tiana Hibpshman

Gimmie outside the Veterinary Teaching Hospital

Gimmie Dexter

Emergency and Critical Care
Connie outside the Veterinary Teaching Hospital.

Connie Fraser


Excellence in Preclinical Teaching Award

Dr. Lampa outside the College.

Steve Lampa

Presented to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in character, leadership, and teaching in preclinical years 1 and 2.

Outstanding House Officer Award

Dr. Carlos Valerio-Lopez.

Carlos Valerio Lopez

Presented to a house officer who demonstrates excellence in teaching, mentoring, and serving as a role model.