WSVMA presents awards to Craig McConnel, Ashley Hoyt

Dr. Craig McConnel poses with his award alongside WSVMA President Dr. Blair de Vries.
Dr. Craig McConnel poses with his award alongside WSVMA President Dr. Blair de Vries.

The Washington State Veterinary Medical Association has awarded the 2023 WSU Faculty Member of the Year Award to Washington State University associate professor Dr. Craig McConnel and the WSVMA Distinguished Veterinary Staff Award to Ashley Hoyt.  

Ashley Hoyt standing at a podium and the Greater Tacoma Convention Center.
Ashley Hoyt

In its announcement of the awards, the WSVMA said Dr. McConnel has excelled in academic achievements, mentoring students and peers, facilitating interagency collaborations, and contributing to and guiding the planning of the Pacific Northwest Veterinary Conference. The organization also noted his research contributions to dairy cattle studies and biosecurity initiatives, and that he is a dedicated educator and an exemplary mentor who fosters a culture of curiosity and respect among students and peers. The award is presented to WSU faculty members who have served members of the WSVMA with distinction.

Hoyt, who was nominated by Drs. Janean Fidel, Linda Martin, and Annie Chen-Allen, is the lead patient services coordinator at the WSU Veterinary Teaching Hospital. She was recognized for her leadership in managing all aspects of an increasing caseload for small and large animal patients. With a steadfast commitment to excellence, she consistently sets the bar high, serving as an inspirational role model for her colleagues. Her professionalism, positive attitude, and compassion infuses all that she does, and makes her uniquely qualified to win this award.